About our Historic Asheville Bed and Breakfast Inn
A Bed of Roses was built around 1897 by Oliver Davis Revell as an investment property for Mrs. J.B. Gray. O.D. Revell, a successful developer and self made man, was fatherless as an infant and an orphan by the age of 16, but grew from a talented carpenter to a shrewd businessman, building many variants of the Queen Anne style in Asheville NC. Shortly after Mrs. Gray was widowed, in 1897 O.D. Revell and Carolyn Gray were married, combining their fortunes and expanding his success into the former Indian Territories of Oklahoma. The Oliver Davis Room, the Revell Room and the Carolyn Gray Room are all named after this couple.
The Historic Register of Asheville lists the house as the Marvin B. Wilkinson House. Mr. Wilkinson purchased the house in 1904 and was its first long-term occupant. The Wilkinson room is named in his honor.
Architecturally, the inn is a Queen Anne Victorian featuring a large second story polygonal corner projection or turret with a broad ogee roof. The Turret Suite occupies this corner projection and stretches across the front façade of the house, opening to the right hand balcony through a broad glass paned door. The front porch is characterized by stylized Doric columns sitting on stone pedestals. Situated to the back of a long narrow expanse of lawn, flowering trees and gardens, the building beckons you to follow the long path in and explore this peaceful remnant of Victorian history.